Dealing With Change

Change is inevitable. In life, things are not always going to go your way.  

Photo by Nataliya Vaitkevich on Pexels.com

I recently read a book called the Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle (one of my faves). It mentions a concept that always resonates with me:  

Things are not positive or negative, it is just how you perceive them.

This applies to anything in life. Anything that comes your way is teaching you something. You may not think about it at the time. It may feel that nothing else can go right from here, however it is how you come back from the situation that matters. 

As humans we tend to focus on the ‘negative’ than the ‘positive’ things that happen to us. 

Here is a story that happened about how change is a blessing.

Last year in January 2020 I made the decision to drop out of uni. This was honestly the lowest I have ever felt in all my life. I felt like a failure and that nothing else was going to come of my life. 

It sounds dramatic, but my career is my calling in life. So, thinking I would not be able to create the life I want for myself was really upsetting to me. It made me doubt myself and my capability. 

This led to a month of depression. Not wanting to get up or be by myself as I thought I had nothing to live for. I had to take 3 weeks off social media as I could not face anyone. I felt so ashamed. I played it down to all my friends to say it did not affect me as much as it did.  

I knew I could not carry on feeling sorry for myself and not making a change. That is not in my nature.  

It was a scary time. The not knowing what to do next, the uncertainty of it working out or not and the constant thinking of what could have been if I stayed. 

I then spoke to a career advisor at my university (she honestly could not have helped me anymore) and I decided to make the change to Business and PR.  

I then applied for the Business and PR degree for September 2020 and got accepted. YAY. Feeling as motivated as ever before, after all what happened, I knew I had to give it my best shot. 

Then… Lockdown. 

Lockdown was a challenging time for everyone. However, for me, I completely shifted my mindset and life. I lost my job so the only thing I had to do was work on myself. 

I used this time to create a better way of thinking into a growth mindset (I will do a full blog post on this) and prepare myself for the next chapter. 

Looking back on this experience, it taught me so much about myself and what I would do differently when faced with changes like this in life (which will happen). 

Me at my happiest ♥️

I suffered a lot with my mental health too. So, yes, I do have bad days and it gets overwhelming. However, I try to keep in mind that everything is temporary.

Therefore, it all comes back to the concept of experiences not being positive or negative. It is your viewpoint.  

Trust the timing of your life. 

Ellie ♥️

2 responses to “Dealing With Change”

  1. I have gained so much from this post. It’s made me look at my mindset. Thanks Ellie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So very true ❤👌

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started